How To Block People On Instagram?
Socializing on social media is nothing new and having many followers or getting friend requests might make you feel really special. But what about those who might be annoying you with their stupid and irksome comments or messages or trying to reach out to you when you are not interested? Well, it’s the ‘Block’ option which comes to your rescue.
On Instagram, you put up your pictures to share with the world. But if you find people bothering you with their exasperating gestures, you can always block them. Simply follow the instructions below and you’re sorted.
- Type their name and open their profile.
- Tap on iphone/ipad/Android
- Tap Block User
But are they made aware that they are blocked? Well, once you block them, they will no longer be able to see your photos or videos or even find your account. However, if your account is still public, your profile will be accessible through any web browser. You can check it by typing http://www.instagram.com/*User Name*.
Also, it’s a little comforting when it comes to blocking a friend or a very close acquaintance because they will not receive any warning or notification about it. But it might occur to them if they find no updates from you and can longer interact with you through the private chat option.
However, the best way to keep your profile spam-free and clean is by choosing to keep your account private. You will still be able to block users who no longer interest you.
Also, in a reverse situation if you want to find out whether you have been blocked by anyone, there are a couple of ways by which you can figure out how. Arguably, one of the ways to figure out whether someone has blocked you or not would be to simply try to follow him. If you had already followed him and now, it comes to your notice that you have to follow that person again, it could be a hint. However, if you are not able to follow him again on his profile, it is quite likely that you’ve have been blocked.
Note: On several occasions, it could also happen due to server issues as a result of which you might have trouble following accounts.
Also, there are situations when someone may have accidently blocked you. If you sense that it is quite possible, you can simply mention the account on Instagram. All you need to do is, post a photo and type “@” in the caption followed by the account holder’s name. Since, the users on Instagram can see all the mentions of them irrespective of whether they have blocked people, he /she could still see it and possibly respond.
Picture courtesy – laptopmag.com
by techtalks @TechTalks June 22, 2016 5:25 AM UTC