Why WhatsApp Is Sharing Your Details With Facebook

Did you know that your favourite instant messaging service is sharing your details on Facebook? That’s right! With the latest update, WhatsApp now has the ability to share your number and use your usage data to determine what you see on Facebook. This unsettling feature can however be changed by fiddling with the app a little from your phone. Here is everything you need to know about this latest development.

1

While the terms and conditions of WhatsApp and its privacy policies have stayed pretty much the same in the past four years, its acquisition by Facebook and the new update has changed all that. In order to show you ads on Facebook that are more relevant to you and your internet browsing patterns, WhatsApp now can share the phone number that you use to access the messaging app, along with the time of your last WhatsApp appearance.

While other personal information like your images, photos or messages will thankfully still remain private, Facebook will now be able to make more accurate friend suggestions besides ad suggestion. So rather than seeing random suggestions for friends and brands you most likely have never heard of, you will now start seeing products from your favourite companies.

According to WhatsApp this change has been made not only to improve your Facebook experience, but also in order to “coordinate” better with its parent company and “fight spam and abuse”. While WhatsApp says that it does not wish to spam its users with ads from businesses, its commitment to this statement remains to be seen in future developments.

There is however a simple way to avoid all of this. First, while updating WhatsApp do not simply avoid and agree to the terms and conditions as most of us very happily choose to. Instead tap on ‘Read’ and deselect the option which reads ‘Share my WhatsApp account information with Facebook’. If you have already clicked agree to the new terms, blissfully unaware of the consequences, do not fret!

Simply go to the ‘Settings’ tab and click on ‘Account’. There sitting unexpectedly at the bottom of the list lies the option ‘Share my account information’. Just unselect the automatically checked option and you are done! However be warned, once you make the decision to conscious uncouple your WhatsApp account from your Facebook one, there is no going back as the option will no longer be visible on your device.

Picture courtesy – gadgets360cdn.com


by techtalks @TechTalks September 26, 2016 5:22 AM UTC

DIGITAL DEBATE

Mobile Upgrades: Killing The Product Before Its Time?

Have to agree. The speed of newer phone models within the same series and newer app versions lead to more thought put into buying decisions. Phone lines have a definite short shelf life

Lionel Gurjao

Frequently upgrading the software is a real problem as updating the software might cause your phone to lag because of the older hardware.

Shivendra Singh

They should come out with upgrades for the specific phones and not for the separate Operating System. This way a special version for your phones specific hardware can be made

Maalin Ashar

They should come out with upgrades for the specific phones and not for the separate Operating System. This way a special version for your phones specific hardware can be made

Maalin Ashar

Q5 blackberry

Alhassan A Bukar

Nice

Ishwar Maradi